Home SportsCricket Asian Games 2023: Ruturaj Gaikwad Leads Indian Cricket Team as T20 Captain

Asian Games 2023: Ruturaj Gaikwad Leads Indian Cricket Team as T20 Captain

by khushahal vishwakarma

Asian Games 2023: Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead India men’s cricket team – full squad

“The Indian Cricket Control Board (BCCI) recently revealed their decision to finalize a squad comprising 15 talented Indian cricketers, in addition to an additional roster of five players, who will represent the nation at the upcoming Asian Games 2023.” from September 23 to October 8 in Hangzhou, People’s Republic of China in reserve.

The Asian Games 2023 men’s T20 cricket competition will be held from 28 September to 8 October. All matches will be played at Pingfang Cricket Ground of Jiaxing University of Technology.

Asian Games 2023

In preparation for the Asian Games in Hangzhou, the Indian national team has decided to field a second team consisting of irregular players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and other key figures, such as the ICC World Cup Men in a Day, which starts on October 5th in India, start.

When the squad embarks on their journey to Hangzhou, they will encounter a reservoir of remarkably gifted young individuals, primarily hailing from the Indian Premier League (IPL). Ruturaj Gaikwad, a 26-year-old cricket player who currently represents the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, will assume leadership of India’s contingent at the Asian Games.

Also read –Ravichandran Ashwin Sets Record-Breaking Figures 2nd highest wicket-taker: Unveiling the Best Overseas Performance by an Indian Bowler

The team also included left fast bowler Arshdeep Singh, who holds the record for most goals for the Punjab Kings in the 2023 IPL. Century has also earned his place in the squad.
Rinku Singh, who caused a stir this season with strong rounds for the Kolkata Knight Riders at IPL 2023, has also made his first call to India.

The historic inclusion of both the Indian men’s and women’s cricket teams in the roster for the upcoming Asian Games has set a groundbreaking precedent.

cricket has already been played twice at the Asian Games – in Guangzhou 2010 and Incheon 2014. The first edition was won by Bangladesh and the current champion is Sri Lanka. In both cases, Afghanistan took second place.

The upcoming multisport event will mark the team’s second appearance and will add to their legacy as they return to the pitch with the utmost passion and determination, representing men’s cricket. During the 1998 Commonwealth Games held in Kuala Lumpur, the remarkable performance of the Indian men’s team in the 50+ format reverberated through the sporting history, leaving an enduring imprint that will forever be cherished. However, the games were not given international status and were listed as List A games.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) disclosed the selection of the Indian T20 team, set to participate in the forthcoming Asian Games 2023, which is slated to be held in Hangzhou, China. As per the India Today Sports Desk, this announcement was made on Friday, the 14th of July. Ruturaj Gaikwad has been appointed as the captain, signifying a significant milestone in his cricketing journey.

The team comprises a blend of promising emerging talents within Indian cricket. Notable additions to the squad include Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma, whose exceptional performances during the recent IPL 2023 season have rightfully earned them a place in the team.

Rinku Singh, who represented the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, demonstrated his batting prowess by amassing 474 runs from 14 matches. “While his exclusion from the West Indies squad was disappointing, his unwavering performances undeniably earned him a well-deserved spot on the Asian Games team.

Asian Games 2023 India Men’s Cricket Team Full Squad

Team India: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Kapitän), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (Garden de Guichet), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi , Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (bramkarz)

selected players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Ayyar, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarshan

You may also like

Leave a Comment